Write Every Day! And other unrealistic expectations

I WON! I WON!

Yes, I “won” NaNoWriMo. My manuscript needs work. A lotta work. But I made it to 50k words (technically 50,001).* And there’s a beginning, a middle, and an end. I do believe in this premise and the characters. But I don’t even want to think about it right now (or even share all of its badness with my CPs yet). And all of the most brilliant writing gurus say we should put away the NaNo novels for at least a month to let them simmer, so that works fine for me.

I was able to keep up writing virtually every day while I was doing NaNo, and then the moment December 1 rolled around, I said, BASTA.** Then I tortured myself reading all of these blogs that said how such-and-such writer finished NaNo in eight days! Or three days! And how important it is to write your $%# off Every. Single. Day. No matter what!

Or you’ll never be successful, they all seem to suggest.

Well, fugheddaboudit. I’ve decided that everyone works differently. I need the crowd, “let’s do it together!” mentality of NaNo to push myself to write everyday. Otherwise I lose my focus and get too easily distracted with other projects.

But–let’s say it together–that’s okay. I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, people like me.***

And I realized something anyway. Just because I’m not working on a new novel everyday doesn’t mean I’m not practicing my writing. It’s just sometimes my writing consists of blog posts (hi there!), or a book review, or a report for Inklings, or even finishing my edits for Three Wishes (hurrah!).

Words are prevalent for me all day, every day. I don’t have to prove to anyone–not even myself–that I’m a writer by holding myself up to unrealistic expectations. It’s plain old writing that makes me a writer.

Hey, this is completely random, but as we are deep in the holiday season, here’s a link to my new favorite holiday song. Ignore the fact that it’s from Glade. (You read that right.)

http://www.glade.com/en/this-is-my-wish

*Not kidding! I wrote only until I didn’t have to.

**Which means “enough” in Spanish, Dad. Not just me misspelling pasta.

***Please tell me if you know this reference.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Write Every Day! And other unrealistic expectations

  1. I agree with you – writing is writing. Blog posts definitely count! If I had to rely on solely my fiction writing I’d be even more discouraged. And you are not alone, I remember Stuart Smalley!

  2. Yipee! Does replying to blog posts count for writing? How about family Holiday cards? I know…signing my child’s math test! Keep writing & smiling:)

    *Rebecca Blystone,* *Writing as: Anne Brocole* *Maledicta 2014*

    Blog http://www.annebrocole.wordpress.com/ Facebook–Author Page http://www.facebook.com/pages/Anne-Brocole/576718832392205 Facebook—Page http://www.facebook.com/anne.brocole Twitter http://www.twitter.com/AnneBrocole Soul Mate Publishing Author Blog http://www.smpauthors.wordpress.com/meet-anne-brocole/

    On Wed, Dec 11, 2013 at 9:49 PM, Going in Circles wrote:

    > deborahkreiser posted: “I WON! I WON!Yes, I “won” NaNoWriMo. My > manuscript needs work. A lotta work. But I made it to 50k words > (technically 50,001).* And there’s a beginning, a middle, and an end. I do > believe in this premise and the characters. But I don’t even want to think > a”

Leave a Reply

