Prepping for #NaNoWriMo

This November will mark my third straight year doing National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo. It’s cool–a noun (NaNo), verb (NaNoing, to NaNo), and may I humbly suggest, an adjective (that book premise is so NaNo!).*

My husband doesn’t yet know I’m planning on doing it again. And of course we’re hosting Thanksgiving this year for 11 people. And we’ll have my daughter’s birthday. and . . . And . . . AND.

But I’ve found that for just one month, I can squeeze it all in. Thirty days of REALLY TOO MUCH TO DO. Going crazy, late nights, early mornings, scribbling (well, typing) in the five minutes between snack and going to pick up child from school, general chaos.

Is this a pace I can maintain all year long? Not I. In fact, I’m starting to think** that writing a book each year during NaNo, and taking the rest of the year to edit and query it, might be a realistic model for me. I think that’s why I’m still struggling just to finish the first draft of my current WIP, The Evergreen. I started it in the spring, while querying my very first MS, Three Wishes.

Yes, I know I will eventually finish the draft (trying to do so before the end of this month, FYI, dear CPs), but there isn’t that same sense of urgency to get the words down as when I’m doing NaNo.

Plus, I’m super-excited about my planned NaNo book. I’m not going to give it all away yet, but suffice it to say that it will have something to do with Romeo and Juliet. And re-reading R&J, for the first time since college, has been a real treat.

Things are good in the world of Noveland. I hope to say the same as of November 30. Wish me luck!***

*Cool people don’t talk like this. At least the last part.

**Unless I become a full-time writer, or get some mongo book contract that requires a quicker writing pace.

***For anyone interested in trying NaNoWriMo, check out nanowrimo.org. It’s fun! No pressure! Super-supportive! I’ll be your NaNo buddy!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Prepping for #NaNoWriMo

  1. Allison Forsythe

    Good luck!! 🙂

  2. I really need to time things better so that I can participate. It sounds so fun! This year though I think my time is best spent doing “NaNoEditMo” for my current MS. I’d really like to get it query-ready ASAP!

    However, next year, hopefully I can time everything better so I’ve got editing done and a shiny new idea outlined come October.

Leave a Reply

