#WIPMarathon Check -In #1

Last Check-in Wordcount: I didn’t plot with chapters (crazy me), so this is more about word count. I started with 19455. 

Current WC: 21508. Almost exactly two thousand words written!

WIP Issues this week: None so far.

What I learnt this week in writing: I don’t know that I learned anything new, but I was reminded that waking up just a tiny bit earlier than the rest of the house makes me a million times more productive.

What distracted me this week while writing: Bathroom renovation! We got more drywall up yesterday, and I painted our custom-built medicine cabinet from Etsy.

Last 200 words: This is the scary part. Totally raw writing, no editing or critiquing yet. Eek!

Mom marched out of her bedroom, where she’d been after slamming the door. She was shaking so hard she almost couldn’t speak. “Get out of my–our–house. Ricky–”

“Rick,” I had to interject. She just threw me a look.

“–is my son, just as much as he’s your grandson. I am asking you now to leave.”

My grandmother arched an eyebrow. “We’ll give you both some time to think it over. And, by the way, we’ll also be talking to our lawyer.” My grandfather remained silent through all of this, but he got their jackets from the closet and followed my grandmother as she exited. “We’ll be staying in the hotel until this is all fixed,” my grandmother threw over her shoulder before closing the door.

Mom didn’t look at me, just ran back into her room again. I could hear the sounds of her loud weeping in there. At least, at last, she was showing some kind of emotion.

“I think I’d better go now, too,” Sarah said softly. I let myself fall back onto the couch behind me and nodded. “See you at school?” I froze. Would I be ready for school, ever again? Could I face those kids? “It’ll be okay, Rick,” she said, patting my hand as it rested on the couch arm.

I didn’t say anything, and a few moments later she left the house, too. I was alone again.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#WIPMarathon Check -In #1

  1. Her mom’s emotions felt so real reading! Good job, Deborah! And 2k in a few days is a great start for “a turtle” 😉

Leave a Reply

