A Pitch Contest! How Can I Resist?

These are always fun, so I’ll throw my hat in the ring for the Aussie Owned and Read Pitcharama. I feel like I’m cheating, since it’s still June 13th here in the States, but I’m all good Down Under, where’s it’s already tomorrow.

Manuscript Title: THREE WISHES

Author: Me! (Deborah Kreiser)

Age Group: YA

Genre: Paranormal with Romantic Elements*

Word Count: 74k

250-word Blurb:

Tall and lanky, Eugénie (Genie) Lowry is usually noticed only during academic awards assemblies–until the moment she turns 17 ½, when her body morphs from Kate-Hudson-flat to Katy-Perry-curvy. She discovers she’s a real, honest-to-God genie, with exactly six months to find a master, or she’ll return to her original self.

Suddenly, Genie’s new body has made her the toast of high school. She hooks up with popular and funny Pete Dillon, but he’s set on controlling what Genie eats and who she sees, creating a major rift with her friends. She isn’t sure if Pete is Master (or Mr.) Right, but she is sure she wants more than anything to fall in love and live happily ever after.

With help from her dead mother’s interactive diary and the imposing Dr. Morocco, a mentor with questionable motives, Genie uncovers the family history and genie rules she never knew. She grapples with her new powers and searches for the perfect master as she tries to make her own wishes come true.

THREE WISHES is a completed 74,000-word Young Adult Paranormal with Romantic Elements manuscript with series potential. It will appeal to fans of the setting in Kim Harrington’s CLARITY and the subject in Jackson Pearce’s AS YOU WISH.

*It’s not quite a capital “r” romance, but there is love and a happily ever after

######################################################

And hey, while I’m doing a post, Joan, my brilliant critique partner, asked me to cast my two leads. So, without further ado . . .

Genie looks like a teenage Jenna Dewan-ImageTatum, while Pete looks like a longer-haired Mr. Miley Cyrus. Pretty people, huh?Image

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “A Pitch Contest! How Can I Resist?

  1. Ann Noser

    Oh, I like this! Except now I think I goofed–I thought 250 word blurb meant the first 250 words of the book! Argh!

  2. Thanks, Anne! I enjoyed yours, too (should comment on your blog as well). I think the blurb was supposed to be our pitch, but maybe it was supposed to be the first 250. Hmm.

  3. Ann

    Upon rereading the entry instructions, it DOES say query. I just saw “250” and ran with it. Must get more sleep tonight–but I always say that! Good luck to you as well–sounds really interesting!

  4. Miss Alexandrina

    I love your blurb! It’s so spunky and direct!

  5. Intriguing idea. I love genies. Good luck 🙂

    Meredith
    Meredith’s Musings

  6. Pingback: Pitcharama: Announcing the 24 | 8 Aussie Writers

  7. katieteller

    Hey Deborah! I really love this idea. Genies don’t get enough attention for my liking! It feels like a combination of I Dream of Genie and Sabrina the Teenage Witch, both of which I love! The combination of sudden magic powers and normal teenage life is definitely something I’d be curious to read.
    If you need anything, last minute query critique, anything at all, just let me know! You can tweet me or email me at katiejteller (@) gmail.com

Leave a Reply

