Show, Don’t Tell (Your Loved Ones How You Feel)

I was already thinking about blogging on this subject before the tragedy of the Boston Marathon this Patriot’s Day, but it’s taken on a new meaning since then.

As writers, we *always* hear “show–don’t tell!” and it can be awfully hard to do. This phrase resonates with me in my efforts to improve my writing, but I started thinking about how it really applies to life, too.

Perhaps we’ll send a quick note email text telling someone we’re thinking of him or her.* But we don’t pick up the phone to really spend time catching up with that person.

Or maybe we kiss our spouses good-bye as they go to work, giving them an absent-minded “love you,” but we don’t talk to them in depth when a spare moment arrives, saving deep emotion for a Valentine’s Day card.

Maybe we know of a loved one, or even just an acquaintance, who could really benefit from a visit, but we’re too wrapped up in our own busyness to go out of our way to show we care.

I don’t mean to sound preachy, just reflective. I know *I* fail in all three categories. It’s so easy to be caught up in the day-to-day of our lives, and we forget that we have to show people how we feel, not just tell them.

Me? I’m going to try to do better in all the ways I’ve mentioned above.

And as for Boston, I’m pretty sure I’m going to run it next year (for charity, not time–I’m pretty slow). I’m going to show how I feel by refusing to let the bad guys win.

*For the record, I really have nothing against texting.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Show, Don’t Tell (Your Loved Ones How You Feel)

  1. Joan

    This is so inspirational. Thanks for writing this post 🙂 (PS-I’m a runner myself and just…*shudders* just the thought of something like that happening after 26.2 MILES is so cruel).

  2. Maggie Thom

    A great reminder that each moment counts. It’s not til a tragedy that we stop and really look at what we are doing and not doing. I’m pretty good at most of it with some people and not so good with others. Something I for sure need to work on. 🙂

  3. What I’ve found that works for me is to send a heartfelt card to the person that I need to connect with ~ try my link and send one yourself ~ my treat. The real paper card arrives in your friend’s mailbox ~ a priceless way to make someone feel special (but doesn’t break the bank!) http://www.sendoutcards.com/126830

Leave a Reply

