Twitter Friend In Real Life

I had a surreal experience today.

I have been following the fantastic trajectory of another writer, who finished her first novel during National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) in November 2012. She had an agent two months and one day after she put the final period on her manuscript.

How did she do it? I’m sure it’s talent–though I haven’t yet gotten to read her work–but it’s also a great premise–I have seen her pitch and query letter, and they’re both awesome–plus incredible good fortune.  (BTW, I don’t think I’m saying anything she wouldn’t say herself.)

She got four requests from a pitch on Brenda Lee Drake’s January Twitter Pitch Madness (#PitMad–the next one’s at the end of March!) and one of the requests was from her dream agent. One thing led to another, and it was a match made in book heaven. She has some edits to make, and then her agent is going to begin submitting her manuscript to editors.

I started following her on Twitter back in January out of utter jealousy and amazement. Hey, if she can do it, I can too! I thought. Then I followed her blog. Then we started tweeting back and forth.

Then we started emailing, and she gave me some great tips for my own query and pitch. She told me I just had to enter a pitch contest, which I ended up winning! My full manuscript is with the agent right now.

I bragged to all of my friends and family about my cool Twitter friend. She lives in Florida, and I’m in Massachusetts, so I figured we’d never actually meet.

Then today, I wanted her advice on a partial manuscript request I got today . . . and she gave me her phone number. What? My Twitter friend really truly exists In Real Life (IRL)? And she has a cell phone, and isn’t afraid of me stalking her?*

Oddly enough, talking on the phone and hearing her voice for the first time was just as I would have imagined. She’s as awesome and friendly there as she is on social media.  She even told me to text her if I had any more burning questions.

Now, maybe our paths will cross at a writer’s conference somewhere in the middle. In the meantime, I’ll keep enjoying my friend both virtually–and IRL.

*I would never do that.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Twitter Friend In Real Life

  1. Congrats on winning the pitch contest!!!! And that is so cool. Rea people are generally cooler than virtual ones 😀

  2. Congratulations! It’s great to hear success stories like that. I’m still not even on Twitter because blogging takes up so much time, but I keep thinking I should probably be on it.

Leave a Reply

